Friday, October 17, 2008

Parliament House

Australia has a Federal Government and each state has a State Government. The Federal Government is based in Canberra in a separate area of land called the ACT (Australian Capital Territory)

(New) Parliament House was opened in 1988. It was built as a replacement of an existing building (Old Parliament House). 

When you look from the roof of Parliament House you see Old Parliament House and behind it several kilometres in the distance across Lake Burley Griffin you can see the National War Memorial.

When looking from the War Memorial you see new Parliament House 'perched' above the old building. 

No comments: